Club History:


Blue Lake YMCA commenced in 1980 with 15 members and membership grew to 50 to 60 swimmers by the mid 90s. The club changed it's name to Blue lake Y when the Mount Gambier YMCA closed its doors.The club held the Y in its name to remind its members of its heritage and the charter that it upheld incorporating the philosophy regarding young people.


The Blue Lake Y club was named "Club of the Year" for South Australia in 1983, 1986 and 1988.


At the Country Championships Blue Lake Y swimmers won the prestigious Advertiser Shield for 9 consecutive years from 1985 to 1993 and held 64 state Country records including individual and team events.


The club continued its success with swimmers achieving podium finishes at SA State Championships as well as 10 swimmers competing at the Australian National Championships - Janelle Snigg, Allan Bilney, Brett Klieve, Damien Burns, Karen McNamara, Sharon Klieve, Tracey Stevens, Henry Crauford and Thomas Bignell. Since the club's inception many Blue Lake Y swimmers have been selected in the SA State SAPSASA swim team and competed at The Pacific School Games and the SAPSASA interchange competition held throughout Australia.


The club has supported young people with disabilities and saw Sheena Wood compete at the National Wheelchair Games and Kristen Tredrea swim at Interdistrict meets.


Blue lake Y Swim Club has successfully hosted the Country Championships in Mount Gambier on many occassions,  including 2009 which was the 50th anniversary of Countries Championship swimming, and most recent being 2015.


Brett Klieve has been the club's longest serving swimmer and swam in an amazing 21 consecutive Country Championships from 1982-2003.